last 5 wrds:
hugmobile
How
downers
danceoff
Generations

"hated "

SITES WE HATE: 10 SITES FOR THE TRASH BIN
Yahoo Internet Life May 2002

#3 COCKYBASTARD.COM
�Q: What do you get when exhibitionism collides with HTML? A: John Halcyon Styn�s vainglorious web shrine. The site took top honors at the 2000 Webby Awards for Best Personal Site, but we�d like to nominate it for Best Example of Unbridled Narcissism Online. When Styn isn�t busy modeling another gender bending outfit, he�s either naked or in a sort of vanity reducio ad absurdum, wearing a T-shirt with his own URL emblazoned on it. Not since Zsa Zsa Gabor has someone tried so hard to be famous for the sake of being famous. In a universe teeming with vanity sites, this is the one to beat.�

When I first read this, it hit me hard. But it's become a BLESSING.

I'm realizing that to do anything of value is to risk being mocked and hated.

I think that getting a knock from mainstream culture is almost giving me a boost.

Making me let go of some fears.

I have been afraid to follow some artistic ideas because they are radical. I was afraid of ridicule, scorn, shame.

Now I realize that I need to follow the instincts regardless of what perceptions will be. If I feel it is true, and I believe it is an idea with love, then I must risk it being misunderstood.

"ah, so you shall be misunderstood. Is it so bad to be misunderstood? Pythagoras was misunderstood, and Socrates, and Jesus, and Luther, and Copernicus, and Galileo, and Newton, and every pure and wise spirit that ever took flesh. To be great is to be misunderstood."
-Ralph Waldo Emerson


previous
| next

wrds index | cockybastard | email

page easily updated through Diaryland.com