last 5 wrds:
hugmobile
How
downers
danceoff
Generations

"downers "

Sometimes I post some pretty depressive thoughts.

And while I don�t really want that to be a part of my online identity, I do this for a few reasons.

1) writing them down and posting them often allows me to �let go� of the thoughts.
2) I don�t want to portray myself as someone who is always happy and balanced. Life is a challenge. And while I am in a state of gratitude and love most of the time, it would be dishonest to portray myself as someone who doesn�t have �funk� spells.
3) As a middle aged guy who has done my share of growth and sometimes is looked up to, I want to make sure everyone knows that I still have LOTS of growth ahead of me�as do we all.

That being said, Often by the time you read my words, the down thoughts have subsided. I am getting better and better and recognizing the funk, WITHOUT identifying myself with it. Like it is an oily film covering my psych�but not one that infiltrates my being. One that I need to deal with until it is washed away.

It is not unlike having an annoying house guest. I have to endure them, but I�m not going to re-decorate my place to suit their needs. And I�m not going to take to heart their criticism of my life.

So don�t take my whiny thoughts as anything more than a snapshot of a moment in my constantly changing cycles. And we need to funks to appreciate the joy of the good times. Without the darkness of night, you would never see the stars.


previous
| next

wrds index | cockybastard | email

page easily updated through Diaryland.com