last 5 wrds:
hugmobile
How
downers
danceoff
Generations

"news "

This was written in response to some comments about my recent posts on the war.

I can never justify torture.

No matter what circumstances prompt it. It is still shameful.

Do I understand how circumstances would cause people could do such a thing? Most definitely.

But torture is wrong.

Absolutely.

**

I was a psychologist for severely emotionally disturbed 6-12 year old boys for 2 years. During that time, certain boys would attack me regularly.

They would throw their toys or try to stab me with forks....that type of thing.

A huge part of the job was showing these kids you would love them no matter what. That acting out wouldn�t cause you to hate them or hurt them or abandon them.

And I was pretty good at it.

I think I made a difference.

But sometimes my righteous intentions were clouded.

For example, no matter how much love was in my heart, I couldn�t help but be consumed by anger when a kid would spit in my face.

It ignited something reptilian in me.

Did I ever hit a child? No.

Did I ever restrain a child with more strength than necessary while in a spit-induced rage?

Yes. Never hurting...just establishing superior physical strength.

My actions were wrong. My anger should not have been expressed that way.

Since I had the role of educator and counselor, aggression was the wrong response.

Understandable considering the circumstances? Yes.

But wrong. And, shameful in the role of "teacher of positive behavior."

***

Note: I am not critiquing our soldiers. I am critical of the actions of certain soldiers and regretful of the impact that those actions have in the grand scheme of global protection.


previous
| next

wrds index | cockybastard | email

page easily updated through Diaryland.com