last 5 wrds:
hugmobile
How
downers
danceoff
Generations

"valiant "

I sat down to write and realized I�ve never done anything valiant in the name of love. I�ve never quit my job or moved across country or tattooed a name.

I�ve never rode up on a white horse or rescued someone from a castle tower.

All I could think of was a few trips to pick up people from the airport during rush hour.

I started to feel really selfish.

What *have* I done for love?

I sulked at my computer.

Then, I got an instant message from someone enjoying the sense of community at Citizenx.com (the webcam community I ran).

�You know what's cool about this moment? the stupid stuff that separates us -- your bleeding heart liberal causes, my born-again perspective -- the shit don't matter. maybe I'm starting to trip to your vibe. You make it easy to *love*, john.�

And *that* made me feel pretty damn good.

And I was reminded that I do a lot for love.

I *express* a lot of love.

I really focus on trying to put as much love into the world as possible.

I realized about 5 years ago that love was not a limited resource.

That I didn�t have to be guarded with who I gave love to.

It never runs out.

And the more I express, the more I am capable of.

I realized that, in fact, I�ve dedicated a lot of my life to pushing the ability of the web to express love. CitizenX.com. HugNation.com. Radio.cockybastard.com. Those were definitely done for love.

I�ve been feeling like these projects were a failure recently. But perhaps what I�ve been working for is exactly what that instant message said: I made it easier for him to love.

Perhaps I�ve done something valiant after all.


previous
| next

wrds index | cockybastard | email

page easily updated through Diaryland.com