last 5 wrds:
hugmobile
How
downers
danceoff
Generations

"frat "

In college I helped start a fraternity.

Yup, I am a frat guy.

I was in the alpha class (meaning the first group of pledges after the Founding Fathers). I helped create some of the rituals and pledging traditions that still go on today. It was my first experience with community building.

We didn't haze, but we did force pledges to fulfill challenges. We asked them to experience things outside their norm. A nature hike. A Gay Lesbian bisexual Alliance meeting. Charity work.

There was lots of bonehead stuff, too. But I truly thought that a fraternity, like ANY community, could be a tool for change. A tool for making the world a better place.

I still believe that. I just need to summon the courage to act on it.


previous
| next

wrds index | cockybastard | email

page easily updated through Diaryland.com