last 5 wrds:
hugmobile
How
downers
danceoff
Generations

"cans "

This morning I heard the rustling of cans and bottles near our driveway. I was pretty sure I knew what it was. Since we have a city-run curbside recycling program in our neighborhood, people sometimes go house-to-house and take the cans from the bins.

I told the people to get out of our trash and go away.

Now, part of me thinks, �Hey what does it matter? As long as the cans get recycled.�

But the other part of me knows that what they are doing is theft. And in this case, the end does not justify the means.

The city is running a money-losing recycling program. Despite the fact that it is not the financially wise thing to do, the city still does it because it is the RIGHT thing to do. I want to support that program and that morals-over-profits way of operating. I want all neighborhoods to have curbside recycling. Allowing people to sabotage it is wrong.

If these people want to root through people�s trash that are NOT recycling, then I�m okay with that. Or if they want to go through our regular trash bins and see if we forgot to recycle something, I would be fine with that, too (As long as they don�t make a mess.) But to simply drive through neighborhoods that are already recycling and filling your truck with the collected cans? It�s counterproductive and it ain�t right.


previous
| next

wrds index | cockybastard | email

page easily updated through Diaryland.com