last 5 wrds:
hugmobile
How
downers
danceoff
Generations

"business trip "

Falling backwards towards home�

When you board the train at Union station, it is hard to tell what direction it will leave. Half the seats face north, half south�but which are which.

So, picking wrongly, I sit facing where I�ve been.

I face Los Angeles.

I ride, back-first, for 2.5 hours.

Falling backwards towards home.

Falling backwards towards a 9:30pm arrival time.

On a train, it doesn�t take too many visits to the caf� car to secure a drunken buzz. Sometimes the rail-bound happy hour is social�but not tonight. It is quiet on the southbound Surfliner tonight. The lingering odors of hour-old fast food hang in the air of car number 2. I feel no kinship to my fellow passengers tonight. I suppose that is what makes the train exciting: you never know.

I have had flirtatious rides sitting next to young women.

I�ve had scary (but rewarding) rides sitting next to the mentally ill.

But tonight we all ride alone.

Hundreds of us scattered throughout the cars�bound by vehicle�isolated by thought.

I finish my second Heineken and wonder why I paid extra for an imported beer.

My head enjoys the familiar fuzz of low-grade buzz.

I read for an hour before booting up this laptop.

I�ve come to a point in my life where every time I experience creative art (TV, movies, books) I feel an odd conflict: I respect and admire the artists creation WHILE AT THE SAME TIME admonish myself for not producing more art myself.

This book is great/why am I not writing now?

Jon Stewart is hilarious/I should start my radio show back up

What a cinematic journey/I could write a screenplay if I just focused.

I almost have to slap myself and remind myself to enjoy the art in that moment�to allow myself to be entertained and inspired. To let go of the guilt and have faith that the experience will spark my creative fire.

But is that a lie I tell myself?

And if so, should I just let the lie comfort me?

+++

As I ride this train, I look towards LA due to my seating accident�but my mind looks towards the previous day spent in LA, as well.

My partners and I signed our corporate paperwork today.

We also signed a 3 year lease for office space in downtown LA.

And just like that, I am a co-owner of a growing business.

From my corner office on the 12th floor I can see the Hollywood sign.

In a couple weeks they will finish knocking down the walls and painting the place according to the palette we picked out. (Brown hues for those who care)

My office will have a sofa-bed.

My office will be my 2-night-a-week bedroom.

I wonder if that will impress chicks I meet in LA?

�Wanna come up to my office/apartment for a nightcap? Oh, you need to use the restroom? Its down the hall�let me give you the key.�

Luckily our office space is in the same building as a 4 star hotel. So I have full access to the pool, gym, and showers.

Its only a matter of time before my partners knock on my office door to find me sleeping off a hangover�

Still in my folded out sofa bed�

With the taste of vomit in my mouth and flanked by 2 passed out hookers.

Of course, more likely will be the hours of boredom� the 9pm to 1am hours while I sit in my empty office in front of the computer.

Hoping my �new Mail� icon would blink.

Cruising for cybersex.

Wondering if being naked in my office on webcam is �wrong� once it�s passed midnight.

Wondering if I should go down to the hotel bar.

Looking out the window and wondering how I got here.

Feeling trapped by the office walls and wondering what LA adventures I *should* be getting into.

Wondering if this loneliness is a phase.

Or an expected by-product of a renewed commitment to work.

Am I falling backwards towards something new?

Time will tell.

Business will grow.

And the sunsets will care least of all.


previous
| next

wrds index | cockybastard | email

page easily updated through Diaryland.com