last 5 wrds:
hugmobile
How
downers
danceoff
Generations

"recession I "

So yesterday I had a really good talk with Dmitry, one of the other founders of CitizenX.com.

We discussed the potential for a world recession as a result of the attacks. The airlines are already laying off thousands. This morning it looks like the stock market is hanging in there, but I�m not too smart about these things.

I was thinking about what I could do to help.

What if I bought a new computer today?

I�ve been wanting one, but didn�t really *need* one yet.

What if I took out some nest egg money or a loan and spent it on something I�ve been wanting?

I�m giving money to the Red Cross, too. But its my understanding that our economy is in huge danger of taking a dive. And it would dishearten me if the terrorists were able to create a ripple effect of financial suffering to compound the physical and mental suffering we are already experiencing.

So by buying something big this week, would I be helping fight the potential collapse? (I mean if enough of us did this)

If anyone has knowledge about economics, I�d love to hear why this does or doesn�t make sense to do.

It seems like a pretty easy way to help. You are helping the nation�s economy, and you are also satisfying your selfish wants. How cool would that be?

Saving for a rainy day? Its raining�.why don�t you buy yourself something nice!

Somebody with economic know-how, help me out: What kind of companies / stores should I shop at? American owned? Corporations? Mom and Pop? Is there a �better� way to push my money into the economic system?

Discussion Board for this topic

Part two of this post is here.


previous
| next

wrds index | cockybastard | email

page easily updated through Diaryland.com