last 5 wrds:
hugmobile
How
downers
danceoff
Generations

"taxes "

Warning: political flag waving below.



It bothers me when people complain about taxes.

We live in a democracy. *We* are the government.

It isn't like there's a feudal Lord at my door with his chainmail-adorned ruffians demanding my grain. I vote for the people who set the policies.



I vote for money for schools. I vote for social programs. I vote for all the things that allow our country to work.



How lucky we are that we live in a county that allows for us to make SO MUCH MONEY! Paying a large percentage seems a small entry fee for so much opportunity.



You could pay less taxes in a 3rd world country�but then have to worry about rebels knocking down your door and taking your cash at gunpoint. (Perhaps an exaggeration�but you get my drift.)



I feel safe in America. I enjoy the roads. I like that someone picks up the dead dogs on the side of the road and I don't have to worry about it. The United States is a pretty big organization. And it takes a lot of overhead to run. I feel pretty good about the money used for social programs, welfare, and Medicare. I can enjoy what's left of my money because my government is doping it's best to do the right thing with my money.



No, it's not a perfect system. But it's pretty darn good. And if it has built in mechanisms for people to change it if they don't like it.



So work to change the system, or embrace the system. Anything else is just stewing in bad energy. It doesn't help anything.



March 19, 2000


previous
| next

wrds index | cockybastard | email

page easily updated through Diaryland.com